El Taller i l'Escola

7From the Republic to democracy

Permanent exhibition
From the Republic to democracy


The Workshop and School of Painting and Sculpture of the Autonomous Government of Catalonia in Tarragona

When the II Republic was proclaimed in 1931, the Government constructed a significant project about the culture of the country. The creation of the Workshop and School of Painting and Sculpture in Tarragona established Tarragona as a leading centre for education in the plastic arts.

The proposal directed by Ignasi Mallol and Joan Rebull, with the teachers Salvador Martorell, Enric Cristòfol Ricart, Josep M. Capdevila and Rafael Benet, contributed to the training of a great number of students, some of whom, such as Josep Busquets, Sadurní Garcia Anguera, M. Teresa Ripoll, Gonzalo Lindín or Enric Pinet, became recognised artists.

The school was destroyed by the bombings suffered by the city of Tarragona during the course of the civil war.

The Workshop and School of Art of the Provincial Council of Tarragona

A short time after the end of the Civil War, in 1946, the Provincial Council of Tarragona began a project to create a Workshop and School of Art directed at training in the field of applied arts, initially linked to the Technical College of Tarragona..

The sculptor Lluís M. Saumells was the first director of the school, and the sculptor Salvador Martorell and the painters Gonzalo Lindín and Sadurní Garcia Anguera were the first teachers.

In 1951, the school was set up at the Martí House, the building in which we are now and which was the residence of the scientist Antoni Martí i Franquès of Altafulla. The school moved to its current location in 1976 in the area of Sant Pere Sescelades.

Throughout the life of this teaching centre, now the School of Art and Design, a great number of professionals have been part of its teaching body, achieving great professional prestige, for their teaching as well as for their artistic creation.


Ignasi Mallol

Tarragona, 1892 - Colombia, 1940

Salvador Martorell

La Canonja, 1895 - Tarragona, 1968

M. Teresa Ripoll

Tarragona, 1914 - 1987

Enric Pinet

Tarragona, 1912 - Barcelona, 1974

Lluís M. Saumells

Gironella, 1915 - Tarragona, 1999

Gonzalo Lindín

Oviedo, 1920 - Tarragona, 1999

Josep M. Icart

Tarragona, 1928 - 1985

Ramon Carreté

El Catllar, 1938 - 1990


Girona, 1912 - Tarragona, 1963

Mariano Rubio

Calatayud, 1926 - Tarragona, 2019

Tomás Olivar

Madrid, 1929 - Tarragona, 2013

Rufino Mesa

Valle de Santa Ana (Badajoz), 1948

Jordi Secall

Tarragona, 1932 - 2010